A DUI conviction in North Carolina is very serious. It’s important to know what the consequences are and what penalties you can expect to face.
What Penalties Come With a DUI Conviction in NC?
In North Carolina and every state, it is illegal to drive while under the influence. A person can be arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if they are found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. If the individual is under the age of 21 or is a commercial driver, the legal limit is even lower.
Some questions you may be asking are “What is a DUI in NC?” and “Is a DUI a felony in NC?” There are considerable DUI costs in NC. That’s why you should understand what the DUI consequences in NC are if you are arrested, charged and ultimately convicted of the crime.
What Are the DUI Penalties in North Carolina?
A DUI arrest in NC can be very serious. This means a person who faces DUI charges in NC might want to immediately request an attorney. One of the impacts of a DUI is that your car insurance quotes in NC will increase. Even a minor accident that doesn’t involve injuries or damages can result in an increase.
There are several penalties you can receive depending on the severity of the crime and whether you have prior convictions. These include the following:
- First offense: For a first offence DUI in NC, you can expect jail time that may last a minimum of 24 hours or a maximum of a full year. You can also expect to pay a fine of $200 and have your driver’s license suspended for anywhere from 60 days to one year.
- Second offense: If it is your second DUI offense, you may receive four days to one year in jail and be responsible for fines of varying levels. Your driver’s license will also be suspended for one to four years if you had a prior conviction within the past three years. Additionally, an ignition interlock device is placed on your vehicle once your driving privileges are reinstated.
- Third offense: For a third offense, you can spend 14 to 30 days in jail, or you can spend up to 12 months to two years. Fines will be ordered in varying amounts. Your license is suspended for a minimum of one year or even permanently if your last conviction occurred within five years. If your license is reinstated, you must have an ignition interlock device placed on your vehicle for seven years.
If you have been arrested on DUI charges in NC, it is a matter that should be taken seriously. You need to know what sort of charges and penalties you could face so you can be better prepared.