How much does a DUI Conviction Cost

DUI Conviction Costs NC

How much does a DUI Conviction Cost

DUI convictions can cost you more than just fines. There is the possibility of jail time and/or community service.

DUI Conviction Costs and Consequences

What is a DUI in NC?

Driving under the influence in NC is driving while intoxicated or while your judgment is impaired by alcohol, controlled substances, or prescription drugs in North Carolina. You will most likely experience DUI charges in NC following your arrest. A first offense DUI in NC results in minimal jail time, a $200 fine, and the suspension of your driver’s license from 60 days to one year. If you refuse to take a blood-alcohol test, your driver’s license will be suspended for one year.

Is a DUI a felony in NC?

A DUI conviction NC is a felony when you compound it with aggravating factors. Aggravating factors include driving on a suspended license, inflicting severe bodily harm to someone while driving while intoxicated (DWI), or having children in your vehicle and driving while intoxicated. Having a previous DWI within the past seven years is also an aggravating factor. DUI consequences in NC are based on five levels of punishment.

What are DUI consequences in NC?

DUI cost in NC  is $4,000, $2,000, $500, $500, and $200 for a level one to a level five offense, respectively. Level five is the least severe and level one is the most severe DUI conviction with three or more aggravating or mitigating factors. A level 5 DUI, or your first basic DUI conviction in North Carolina, results in 24 hours in jail and 24 hours of community service. Level 4 punishment results in 48 hours in jail and 48 hours of community service. Level 3 DUI punishment results in 72 hours in jail and the same amount of time for community service. Level 2 DUI punishment requires 7 days to 12 months in jail, and level 1 DUI punishment is 30 days to 24 months in jail or prison. Levels 3 to 5 have the possibility of including a combination of jail and community service in addition to the fine.

A DUI in North Carolina comes with varying fines as well as possible jail time. After a DUI arrest in NC, you may have difficulty getting car insurance. The DUI Insurance Guy can help you reduce the cost of your auto insurance after your DUI conviction in NC. Call me today to get car insurance quotes in NC.

/ DUI Conviction