Alternative Transportation When Drunk
Drinking isn’t a crime, but you could face serious consequences if you drink and drive. Alternative transportation is key to staying safe.
The Smart Alternatives to Drunk Driving
You may not have the exact answer to “What is a DUI in NC?”, but this is no excuse to get behind the wheel while you’re intoxicated. Alternatives to driving drunk exist. Many of these are not only inexpensive, but they can also keep you and other motorists safe.
The potential consequences of DUI charges in NC are real and damaging. Losing the right to drive can make life exceedingly tough for you. It may affect relationships with family and friends, and you could also have to pay fines and ticket costs out of your own pocket. Of course, there are also the physical and legal costs to consider if you were involved in a DUI accident and you hurt yourself or others. There are some things you can do, though, to stay out of trouble when you’ve had too much to drink.
Use a Ride-Sharing Service
Most everyone has a smartphone these days, meaning that help is only an app away. Uber and Lyft are available in select cities in North Carolina. These ride-sharing services make it easy to get the transportation you need with just a few touches on your smartphone. If you’re out drinking, it’s important to be honest with yourself and know when you shouldn’t be driving. You might think you’re OK, but you’re probably not. The BAC limit in North Carolina is .08 percent, and it doesn’t take many drinks to get there.
You may be wondering, “Is a DUI a felony in NC?” It’s not, but you can get charged with a misdemeanor right away. For a person with average body weight, two to three drinks are all it takes, so put down the keys and pick up your phone.
Assign a Designated Driver
The designated driver is a hedge against DUI consequences in NC. Plan ahead with your friends. You can still go out and enjoy yourself as long as someone in your group is assigned as the designated driver. Ideally, this should be someone you know and trust. Getting a free ride home from a friend sure beats the costly alternatives.
Standard DUI costs in NC begin with fines of about $200 and can be as high as $4,000. A DUI conviction in NC can put you behind bars for up to two years. A first offense for DUI in NC doesn’t mean you avoid the penalties, either. You could end up losing your license for a year for starters. You’ll also face substantially high car insurance quotes in NC after a conviction. There’s no need to go through all of this when you can simply have someone take you home.
It only takes a moment to consider how you’ll handle your night out. Taking the steps to plan ahead is a smart option to avoiding a DUI arrest in NC.